Apply – European Natura 2000 Award | European Commission

The Natura 2000 Award is designed to reward excellence in the management of Natura 2000 sites and showcase the added value of the network for local economies.

It pays tribute to all those who are working tirelessly on making Natura 2000 an operational success whilst drawing public attention to its substantial achievements.

The Natura 2000 Network works to ensure the long-term survival of Europe’s most valuable and threatened species and habitats, and is the centrepiece of the EU’s nature and biodiversity policy. It is made up of over 27,000 sites so far. In total, they cover almost a fifth of Europe’s land area and an important part of the surrounding seas, making it the largest coordinated network of conservation areas anywhere in the world.

Yet, despite its scale and the wealth of benefits it provides, many Europeans have still not heard of Natura 2000. This is why, in 2014, the European Commission launched the annual European Natura 2000 Award. The aim of the award is to demonstrate what the network is, what it does to preserve Europe’s biodiversity, and how it benefits us all.

The 2018 Natura 2000 Award gets underway

The 2018 edition of the Natura 2000 Award was launched on 15 May 2017 and promises to be every bit as exciting and inspirational as the previous three editions. From this page you can access all important information concerning the 2018 Award as it happens: the application forms and guidance pdf - 614 KB [235 KB] български (bg)čeština (cs)dansk (da)Deutsch (de)eesti keel (et)ελληνικά (el)español (es)français (fr)hrvatski (hr)italiano (it)latviešu valoda (lv)lietuvių kalba (lt)magyar (hu)Nederlands (nl)polski (pl)português (pt)română (ro)slovenčina (sk)slovenščina (sl)suomi (fi)svenska (sv), the applications, the finalists and of course the six winners. You can also find out more about the people behind the selection – the evaluators and the jury – as well as how to participate in the exciting Award Ceremony.

The deadline for submitting applications is the 29 September 2017 and the winners will be announced at a high level ceremony in Brussels in May 2018.

Click here to apply.

The Natura 2000 award is open to everyone: businesses, authorities, NGOs, volunteers, land owners, educational institutions and individuals.

There are five categories of award: Conservation, Communication Socio-economic benefits Reconciling interests /perception Cross-border cooperation and networking

In addition to the five category winners, the public can vote online for their favourite finalist application. The finalist receiving the most votes is rewarded with the “European Citizens’ Award”.

So why not apply now and get the recognition you deserve !

Previous Awards

The first three years of the Natura 2000 Award highlighted the astonishing array of initiatives on and dedication to Natura 2000 management and promotion taking place right across Europe.

Visit the winning sites from 2016, 2015 and 2014 and find out more about their impressive achievements.

Lähde: European Natura 2000 Award – European Commission

Kategoria(t): Riistanhoito. Lisää kestolinkki kirjanmerkkeihisi.